Where were you that day?

june 3

source: ghanaweb.com

Tomorrow is the anniversary of one of the worst tragedies to ever hit Ghana. There’s going to be an event at the site of the Fuel Station that exploded and charred many people. They will probably spend an obscene amount of money to mark the day. Fancy words will be said and nothing will probably be done.

Last year by this time I was still an Engineer at the Kotoka airport. On June 3rd I was on afternoon duty scheduled to close at 20:30 then rush to Kaneshie where I lived at the time. Things didn’t go according to plan. It rained. Heavily! Hard!

I couldn’t get out and had to do the night shift. My colleague who had a car decided he couldn’t do an extra shift and drove off into the rain. 30 minutes later he called back into the office sounding scared and telling us how his car was half way submerged in water. He couldn’t come back because all the way behind him cars were broken down and submerged in water. Thankfully he survive but his car was never the same.

I spent that evening listening to Richard Dela Sky on Citi FM. The stories pouring in were just scary. The pictures that showed up on social media even more so.

Because I lived at Kaneshie I had to go through Circle before I could get home early the next morning. I don’t know what sort of curiosity forced me to go to the site of the explosion but I saw things that can not be unseen.

One year on I don’t know how much has changed. I still see choked drains everywhere. Fuel stations in residential areas. Politicians say we are more prepared for a flood than we were last year but are we?

I’m still angry about that day. I’m angry because the first Accra flood I can remember was in 1995 and every year since then I remember Accra Flood. You just need to click the hashtag #AccraFloods to see that nothing changes every year.

Today, I’ve been listening to Alan Jackson’s “Where were you when the world stopped turning”. It’s about 9/11 but it reminds me of June 3, 2015

Did you weep for the children who lost their dear loved ones
And pray for the ones who don’t know?
Did you rejoice for the people who walked from the rubble
And sob for the ones left below?
Did you burst out with pride for the red, white and blue
And the heroes who died just doin’ what they do?
Did you look up to heaven for some kind of answer
And look at yourself and what really matters?

 

Where were you that day? What emotions did you feel. Do you think we are more prepared than we were last year? Leave a comment let me know your thoughts

3 thoughts on “Where were you that day?

  1. Wierdly enough that was my first date with my present gf. The rains started early and I remember her coming in Eddy’s pizza soaking wet. After eating and waiting for so long, the rain showed no signs of stopping so we set off. Trying to catch a Lapaz bus, we stood opposite Odo Rice Restaurant with dozens of people in the cold rain.

    It was getting late and I had to get her home.(How’s that for a first date). Out of the blue we heard screams drawing us all towards the Ghana Commercial Bank branch beside the filling station. From our distance, we all thought the bank was on fire. So we all retreated back to where we were before. Just then, we heard the Fire truck sirens and people started cheering them on and shouting at slow moving cars to move out the way. Unfortunately, the Fire Trucks couldn’t go far enough. Many parts of the road were so flooded, it was impossible for them. The Firemen had to come back the way they came and use another route. Could’ve been the most ‘alive’ I felt in my entire life. We finally got a bus around 11pm and had to sleep over at my aunt’s house. Not the best but surely the most memorable first date I know of.

    We saw the very graphic pictures of the aftermath the next morning. A very sad and unfortunate night. #RIP to the lost souls. 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

